Beautiful Enough to be Natural

Welcome to Kinks and Curls. My name is Jazmine Nicole. I’ve been completely natural since April 2012. Like most of you I was so afraid of the Big Chop, so I decided to do a gradual transition for about 7 months. During this time I stopped perming my hair and only washed it with conditioner, no shampoos.

The decision to go natural was more than just a hair thing. For me it symbolized a brand new kind of me. During this time in my life I was having self esteem issues and was having personal problems because I was trying to please others. It was around this time that I discovered that I really didn’t have my own identity. I decided to go natural to build my confidence and strengthen my courage, and it did just that.

I’ve always had thick coarse hair. My mom gave me my first perm at the age of two because it made my hair easier to manage. It wasn’t until I was completely natural that I discovered my real beauty!

Leave a Reply

